| US

Starbucks boosts Board of Directors with streaming, operations and telecoms expertise

Appointment of YouTube, Grupo Bimbo and T-Mobile US CEOs will contribute consumer technology, streaming media, operations and employee experience expertise as Starbucks forges ahead with its Revinention plan

Left to right: Neals Mohan, CEO, YouTube; Daniel Servitj, CEO, Grupo Bimbo; Mike Sievert, CEO and President T-Mobile US | Photo credit: Images courtesy of Starbucks


Starbucks has enlisted the media streaming, consumer technology and operational expertise of senior YouTube, Grupo Bimbo and T-Mobile US leaders as it prepares to deliver its Reinvention Strategy in 2024 and beyond.  

In a press release, Starbucks CEO Laxman Narasimhan said the ‘diverse expertise’ of Neal Mohan, Daniel Servitje and Mike Sievert will be integral to guiding Starbucks ambitious retail, digital, employee and sustainability goals. 

Consumer technology and media streaming capabilities are likely to be key assets as Starbucks seeks to double its 75 million Starbucks Reward members within the next five years. Operationally, Starbucks is also seeking to generate $3bn in savings over the next three years through margin expansion and earnings growth and has pledged to ‘reinvigorate’ employee culture across pay, conditions and training. 

Mohan has been CEO of online video streaming giant YouTube since February 2023, having previously served as the tech company’s Chief Product Officer, responsible for all YouTube products, user experience, trust and safety. 

Servitje has served as CEO of Mexican multinational food company Grupo Bimbo since 1997. Grupo Bimbo’s 100 plus brands include Bimbo, Sara Lee, Entenmann’s, Thomas’ English muffins, and Takis tortilla chips. Sievert has been CEO and President of communications giant T-Mobile US, Inc. since 2020. 

“I am pleased to welcome Daniel, Neal and Mike to the Starbucks board – who bring great and diverse expertise across consumer technology, streaming media, operations and best in class employee experience – as we pursue ambitious goals for our partners and stakeholders with intention, transparency and accountability,” Narasimhan said. 

Mohan, Servitje and Sievert join Narasimhan and seven other members on the Starbucks Board of Directors – Mellody Hobson, chair of the board, Richard Allison, Andy Campion, Beth Ford, Jørgen Vig Knudstorp, Satya Nadella and Wei Zhang. 

The appointments follow Starbucks founder and former CEO Howard Schultz stepping down from the Board of Directors in September 2023. Schultz holds a lifelong Chairman Emeritus position with the Seattle-based coffee chain. 

Related News & Insight

Registered in England. Company No. 8736608
© 2024 World Coffee Portal Ltd.